Dubai Creek Golf and Yacht Club News

Varkey victorious at the Dubai Creek Club Championship

A large field of over 80 golfers battled it out over the two days to be named the 2019 Club Champion

Last weekend saw the annual Club Championship sponsored by Prosports International take place at Dubai Creek Golf & Yacht Club. A large field of over 80 golfers battled it out over the two days to be named the 2019 Dubai Creek Club Championship winner in the Men’s, Ladies and Net categories. The course was presented in immaculate condition proving to be a test to all golfers particularly on day one.

Dino Varkey held the lead after round one with his solid round of 70. Varkey was +2 on his front nine after dropping two strokes on the 6th hole but three birdies on his back nine including one on the tough 18th meant he had a two stroke lead over scratch league team member Bayhaan Lakdawala. Lakdawala had an electric start on day one after he birdied both his opening holes, but after dropping two strokes on his front nine, he made the turn in 35 (par). He remained level par through 17 holes but a dropped shot on the last meant he finished the day on 72 (+1). Two strokes back was Adonis Nasr after his round off 75 (+4) which included 4 bogeys and no birdies. One stroke back of Nasr was a chasing pack including the defending champion Edoardo Galeppini, Mike McGinley and Humayun Shahryar who all finished on 76 (+5). In the Ladies division, Ailsa Brannock was leading after her round of 78 (+7) gave her a three stroke lead over Beatrice Galeppini and Glory Xavier who were tied on 81 (+10). Leading the net competition was Farad Lakdawala after a sublime round of 69 (-2) whilst Shiba Wahid Khan led the ladies net competition after her round of 70 (-1).

Day two saw the course play a little easier as the strong wind in day one had calmed leading to a more scoreable golf course. Varkey started the second round with a two shot lead but after a double on the second hole he was tied with Lakdawala. A string of seven straight pars meant he was one clear after 27 holes with Lakdawala dropping a shot on the 9th hole. Further down the field, Miki Mirza was making a charge, he posted a second round 72 (+1) which included three birdies and was eventually good enough for third place overall. The chasing pack, led by Nasr were unable to maintain the high standard of golf and so it was between Varkey and Lakdawala over the final nine. Varkey started the back nine with a birdie and after a string of birdies and bogeys he was three clear of Lakdawala with three holes to play. Lakdawala dropped shots on the 16th and 17th meaning Varkey had a five stroke lead playing the last. Varkey made a regulation par on the 18th and was titled the 2019 Dubai Creek Men’s Club Champion.


Day two for the ladies saw a battle between young Brannock and the experienced Galeppini and Xavier. Brannock started her round strong and made the turn in one under giving her a seven stroke lead over Galeppini with nine to play. She calmly negotiated the remaining holes and birdied her last hole to be titled the Dubai Creek Ladies Club Champion with Galeppini finishing runner up. In the battle for the Championship Vase it was Luca Antonetti who was victorious after shooting 67 (-4) net to beat the overnight leader Lakdawala by two strokes. The ladies net category was won by Shiba Wahid Khan after shooting a second round 72 beating Glory Xavier by two strokes. In the day prizes, best gross day one was won by Adonis Nasr after his 75 and best gross day two was won by Tejan Fadlu-Deen 71. The best net prizes for day one and two were won by Mark Jolliffe and Gregory Mathieu after their respective 70 & 69’s.

After conducting the prize presentation, Dubai Creek’s Golf Services Manager, Michael Major commented; “Thank you all once again for your continued support for this event. Congratulations to all of today’s winners and a huge thank you of course to our sponsor, Prosports International who supported us with this event!”

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button