Abu Dhabi Golf Club News

Varkey Crowned 2012 Abu Dhabi Men’s Open Champion on a windy National Course

Dino Varkey held is nerve in the final round of the 8th Annual Abu Dhabi Men’s Open sponsored by Taylormade to take a one shot victory from Spanish professional Adrian Otaegui on a windy Saturday afternoon at Abu Dhabi Golf Club.

Rounds of 68 and 75 were enough for Dino to take the title despite a treble bogey seven on the Par 4 17th Hole in the final round.
Brian McCarthy beat a high class field to clinch the overall best gross with a four over par total of 144. Second place went to Craig Forrest (152) and third went to Ross Hopwood who lost out on a second round playoff to Forrest after also posting a score of 152.
In the net division John Hunt took first place with steady rounds of 71 and 73 (144) to beat his closest rival Jerome Martin (149) by five shots. Third place went to Bahan Lakdawala with a final score of 150.


Side contests were won by Adam Findlay, Dino Varkey, Ross Hopwood and Nathan Fisher.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button