Sharjah Golf and Shooting Club News

Sharjah Golf and Shooting Club welcomes new Captain

Mr. Sanjoy Das to take Sharjah Golf and Shooting Club honor

Sharjah Golf and Shooting Club was delighted to welcome their new Men’s Captain, Mr. Sanjoy Das. To celebrate the change over the annual Captain’s Season Opener competition took place on Sat 6th October to mark the occasion and allow the membership to meet and greet the new Captain & his Vice Captain Mr. Rory Thomson.

With a field of forty plus golfers the very interesting tee positions and on course events kept all members entertained, Sanjoy played the third hole as he welcomed all the groups a chance to win an extra stableford point by beating his tee shot, Vice-Captain Rory played the 8th and the players had the same opportunity. In the main event of the day, Hanief Sallie shot a great score of 41 Stableford points to take the Captain Season Opener title. Hanief carded seven net birdies and beat both the captain and vice captain’s tee shot to bag himself two extra stableford points to help him to claim the title.

Vivian Verma claimed second place with 40 Stableford points also taking advantage of the two extra points on offer after fine shots at the 3rd and 8th. Third place went to Tim Craig just missing out on 2nd place on countback, Tim also recorded a fine round of 40 points including 2 net eagles.

Best Gross went to youngster William Ang after another fine performance of 37 points narrowly pipping George Lui’s 35 points. Captain Sanjoy Das guests division was won by Subhas Bawker.

There were many prizes up for grabs on the day, Saheen Butt claimed nearest to the Pin on the 8th/17th. Longest drive went to Jum Langthorne after a fine drive on the 6th/15th. The straightest drive was won by Roy Holmes, the last two on course prizes for nearest to the pin in 2 on 2nd/11th went to Gary Langthorne and William Ang claimed closest to pin in 3 on 4th/16th.
The captain had some special prizes on the day for the first 3 players who checked in received under armour golf caps, the eager golfers were Arnel Valencia, David Yeo and past Captain Mukti Rai. Some might say the biggest prize of the day for best-dressed golfers was won by Arnel Valencia and Vivian Verma who made the maximum effort. Thanks and well wishes were once again extended to the new Captain at the presentation as he and his vice-captain embark on an exciting year ahead.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button