Al Ghazal Golf Club News

Sana Tufail retains NBAD 29th Abu Dhabi Ladies Open Golf Championship

The final round of the NBAD 29th Abu Dhabi Ladies Open Golf Championship came to a conclusion at the Al Ghazal Golf Club with Sana Tufail once again being crowned Champion winning by a margin of 14 shots, 72 first day and 73 second day total 145. ‘Having played in this event from the beginning 1984 I can say Sana has now joined five other ladies who have won this coveted trophy more than once over the years; Pauline Reynor, Lynne Hood, Shiraz Singh, K.S. Kim and myself’ said AGGC’s Angela Scurr, ‘Sana is also in some very special company with past Champions from the 80’s such as Jacy Watson, Jacki Crooks, 90’s Dizzy Walker, Jacquie Francis [Barry], Linda Ferguson, Kirsty Aylin, Sara Kidd and of course recently Adele McKelevy and Nasha Sarkari.  All these ladies have been at the top of their amateur games over the years and were well respected for their golfing prowess and camaraderie in the U.A.E., I trust Sana will continue their traditions and know she will continue to dominate our amateur golfing scene if she plays as solidly as she did over this weekend, it was a pleasure to watch her play.’

Popular player Sandy Meyer took second place on 159, from third Angela Scurr [AGGC – 164], fourth Sandra Grenet [EGF – 167] and fifth Anastasia Bakal [TMC – 169].  Best first day gross went to U.K. visitor Pat Rogers [85] and second day gross Anina Bester [AGGC – 87].

In the Nett Division – AGGC’s Ming Brown carded a second round 70, total 148 to secure the winners position from second placed Emily Gordon [AGGC – 148] and third Deborah Castle [AGGC – 148] all where decided on count back.  Best first day was won by Rose Lua [SWGC – 71] and best second day by Jean Heycock [ADGC – 74].

The Subsidiary Division Yvonne Bolton-Grant [SWGC – 72] was piped at the post by one point by AGGC’s Morag Pester with a total of 73 points.  Third place went to Sue Murray [ADCGC] on 62 points.  Best first day went to Linda Sibbald with 30 points and best second day Mandy Gray both from Sharjah Wanderers Golf Club.

Additional prizes over both days were longest drives – Anina Bester, Bobo Bradley, Jane Higson and Yvonne Bolton-Grant, nearest the pins – Marion Tennant, Morag Pester, Pat Rogers and Anne Fasfous.

In conclusion AGGC’s Lady Captain Kate Davies thanked Dina Samir Al Khoury Abu Zolof, Manager – Projects & Events, CCD for presenting the prizes on behalf of National Bank of Abu Dhabi.  Kate also thanked Hakan, ADAC and ADHC for their continued support as well as all the ladies for participating in the event.

PHOTOGRAPH attached. Top winners – L/R Lady Captain Kate Davies, Morag Pester [Subsidiary winner], Dina Samir Al Khoury Abu Zolof, Manager – Projects & Events, Corporate Communication Department National Bank of Abu Dhabi; Champion Sana Tufail, Ming Brown [Nett winner].

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button