Race to Dubai News, Results and Information

Rory Mcilroy secures a second Race to Dubai title as Koepka soars into the top 10

With the final event before the season-ending DP Word Tour Championship done and dusted, the list of names of the 60 players who will be teeing-off later this week at Jumeirah Golf Estates is finally complete and Rory McIlroy is confirmed as the 2014 Race to Dubai Champion. Perfect scoring conditions at The Montgomerie Maxx Royal in Antalya resulted in a highly entertaining final day at the Turkish Airlines Open where it was Brooks Koepka who won a showdown with Ian Poulter to win his first European Tour title.
The win catapulted the four-time Challenge Tour winner from 43rd to sixth in The Race to Dubai while the result also ensured that McIlroy will win the Harry Vardon Trophy as European Number One at the conclusion of the DP World Tour Championship taking place at Jumeirah Golf Estates from Thursday 20 to Sunday 23 November.
Coming into the Turkish Airlines Open, Jamie Donaldson, Sergio Garcia or Marcel Siem had to win the season’s penultimate event in order to have any chance of displacing McIlroy at the top of The Race to Dubai rankings. Although Siem made a valiant charge and started the final round just one shot off the lead before finishing eighth, Koepka’s victory means that McIlroy will collect his second Race to Dubai title to cap-off what has been a fairy-tale season for the Northern Irishman that has seen him with two Majors (The Open Championship and the US PGA Championship, a World Golf Championship (WGC-Bridgestone Invitational) and the BMW PGA Championship.
Poulter, who cemented his spot for the season grand finale with a tied sixth place finish at the WGC-HSBC Champions in Shanghai last week, will come to Dubai in good form and ranked 13th in The Race to Dubai. The Englishman led for much of the way in Turkey but eventually lost out to Koepka in a see-saw battle that ended with Poulter missing a birdie putt on the last hole which would have forced a play-off. Poulter has finished runner-up twice in the DP World Tour Championship, coming up short last year and in 2009.
Australia’s Wade Ormsby began the week in 78th spot in The Race to Dubai but a tied fourth place finish sees him leapfrog to 49th place. He will compete in his first DP World Tour Championship this week.
David Lipsky also ensured that he would be boarding a plane to Dubai after his 15th place finish in Turkey took him just inside the top 60 in The Race to Dubai. The American defeated Graeme Storm in a play-off to win the Omega European Masters in September and give himself a shot at qualifying for the season’s final event.
The European Tour’s season-ending DP World Tour Championship, Dubai will take place at the Jumeirah Golf Estates’ Earth Course from Thursday 20 to Sunday November 23.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button