Emirates Golf Federation News

Dubai American Academy win the 2nd event of the Dubai Schools Golf League

Innan Budhiraja, Aditya Judge, Nikhil Nanda and Diya Chopra combined effectively to guide Dubai American Academy to an impressive victory in the second event of the Dubai Schools Golf League, sponsored by the Emirates Golf Federation, at Dubai Creek Golf and Yacht Club.


The foursome carded a tidy 58 points to beat their nearest challengers Wellington International School in the league which also featured teams from Jess School, American School of Dubai and St. Mary's Holy Catholic School.

One of the major highlights of the competition was the stunning performance of Rayhan Thomas. Playing an individual, the 11-year-old prodigy from St. Mary's Holy Catholic School provided a glimpse of his precocious talent when he won the prestigious gross prize on a count back with 39 strokes.

Diya Chopra also made her presence felt, winning the individual best net stable ford prize with 18 points while Austin Hurlbut of ASD and Viet Nga Petersen of Wellington walked away with the nearest to the pin and the longest drive prizes respectively.

Organised by Diya Chopra, the league will serve as a perfect launch pad for a major inter-school tournament which the young golfing enthusiast plans to start later this year.

“There is no dearth of enthusiasm for the game and that has led to a perceptible rise in the standard of the game among juniors, in particular. We need an inter-school tournament to create more playing opportunities for the youngsters and hone their competitive edge,” said Diya, who also thanked the Emirates Golf
Federation for all their help in organizing the league.

Dubai Schools League

Photo: Winners Dubai American Academy with Chris Vallender of EGF

Interested schools who have a team of at least four players with valid handicaps (boys maximum- 28 and girls maximum- 36) may contact her at diyachops@hotmail.com. The next event will be held on 20th April at Emirates Golf Club Faldo course with 4 pm tee off.

The first edition of the league was won by Dubai College when they defeated Dubai American Academy by five shots. Daniel Hendry, Conor Seabrook, Henry Turpie and Rahul Dungarwal represented the winning team.

Saeed Albudoor General Manager of Emirates Golf Federation commented, “We are delighted with the response received to this event and thank all participating schools. Our support to this event is as part of our commitment to junior golf development.”

Winners: Dubai American Academy (Innan Budhiraja, Aditya Judge, Nikhil Nanda and
Diya Chopra) 58 points.
Individual best gross stroke-play: Rayhan Thomas 39 points (count back)
Individual best net stable ford: Diya Chopra 18 points
Nearest to the pin (fifth hole): Austin Hurlbut
Longest drive (fourth): Viet Nga Petersen

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button