Al Ghazal Golf Club News

Al Ghazal Golf Club announce End of Season Match and Golfer of the Year winners

Captain’s Rupert Evans and Kate Davies held their End of Season Texas Scramble and evening Bash at the Al Ghazal Golf Club over the first Friday of May.

The event was well subscribed and culminated in a Terrace BBQ and Social evening with live music from the dulcet tones of Trevor Varri. 

A chipping contest from the terrace was held in aid of the Captain’s Charity was also held.

The winners of the 12 holes Captain’s Texas Scramble with a net 33 were Jaco & Lizette Breytenbach, Martin Sutherland and Anina Bester, second place on net 34.6 went to Rob Brown, Chris DeBeaufort, Ramesh Emmanuel and Bob Malone.  Subsidiary Prizes of nearest the pins went to Ming Brown and Jaco Breytenbach and longest drives to Anina Bester and Phil Wilkes.

Traditionally the Captain’s event is usually a black tie affair, but the members wanted to enjoy an evening on the terrace with a sumptuous BBQ and music.  As part of the festivities the members also honour the end of season Match play winners and especially the Golfer of the Year awards.  The Men’s Singles match play award went to Phil Wilkes and runner up Mark Hayman, Men’s Pairs to Bernie Blanchard and Richard Whiteside and runner ups Kevin Darroch and Julian Hawlitzky.  The Mixed Pairs winner’s prize went to Mark Hayman and Angela Scurr and second Anina Bester and Herman Groenewald.

The Final presentations went to the Ladies and Men’s Golfer of the Year winners Ming Brown [80 points and third time running] and Vernon Whaanga [114 points].

Photographs attached: 1] Group Photo – all winners on the evening – L/R – Mark Hayman, Kevin Darroch, Martin Sutherland, Bernie Blanchard, L-Captain Kate Davies, Herman Groenewald, Ming Brown, Phil Wilkes, Anina Bester, Captain Rupert Evans, Julian Hawlitzky, Lizette and Jaco Breytenbach.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button