2009 Inaugural Race to Dubai Winner Lee Westwood

Lee Westwood 2009

Winning Player Information

Total Score
Winning Year

Lee Westwood hailed his triumph at the Dubai World Championship presented by: DP World after a nerveless final round 64 secured a six shot victory and with it The Race to Dubai title for 2009.

Westwood, who led by two overnight, fired one of the finest rounds of his career to take the €830,675 first prize at the Earth course that also secured his status as European Number One for the second time in his career.

The 36 year old, who wins The Race to Dubai having earned €3,240,951 in 26 events this season as well as the $1.5million awarded for finishing top this weekend, becomes the eighth Englishman to have won the Harry Vardon Trophy on two occasions or more and the 18th player overall.

Courtesy of the European Tour / Image Getty